Skip to content ↓

Core Curriculum

At Welton we are very proud of the engaging and exciting curriculum the children experience.   Each theme is developed to facilitate the mastery of core skills as well as providing pupils with opportunities to investigate, apply knowledge, solve problems think and learn at the highest levels.  All our curriculum planning is designed to meet the statutory requirements of the early years and national curriculum.

Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a framework for children up to the age of five, setting out six key areas of learning around which activities should be based.

The EYFS framework sets out welfare and developmental goals for children five years and under.

The development section covers:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Problem solving, reasoning and literacy
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development

How can I find out more?

To find out more, visit

Key stage 1 and 2

Compulsory national curriculum subjects at primary school are:

  • english                                              
  • maths
  • science
  • design and technology
  • history
  • geography
  • art and design
  • music
  • physical education (PE), including swimming
  • information and communication technology (ICT)
  • ancient and modern foreign languages (at key stage 2)
  • ICT and RE are also taught

Please see below for the Parents Guide

Reading and Phonics

We teach reading using a broad range of reading schemes and books including; oxford reading tree, project x and popular children’s authors.  The school write their own schemes of work to teach phonics, spelling and grammar, for more details see the curriculum pages for each year group.

Tests and assessments

Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher.  If your child doesn’t achieve a certain standard they will do it again in Year 2.

Key stage 1

Key stage 1 tasks and tests cover:                         Text Box:

  •                 reading
  •                 writing
  •                 speaking and listening
  •                 maths
  •                 science

The tasks and tests are taken when the school chooses.

Your child’s teacher will use the child’s work (including spoken work and homework) to work out what level your child is at in each area.

Key stage 2

Key stage 2 tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • maths (including mental arithmetic)

The tests are taken in mid-May and last under 5 hours 30 minutes in total. You’ll get the results in July. If your child is demonstrating higher achievement then the headteacher may put them in for extra tests.

When your child reaches the end of key stage 2 the teacher will also report on your child’s progress in English, maths and science.

For more information please visit